More Postcards!

Today I went to a Cutting Edge workshop to make postcards – yes more!!!

I decided on the one design of the one below after rummaging through photographs and it gave me the opportunity to practice my free machine embroidery.

The background fabric has been printed on the computer. I have then cut out the window and shutters from fabric scraps and appliqued them on to the fabric. I have put lace behind to give the impression of lace curtains. I have used dyed scrim for the bottom of the window to give the impression of lots of foliage and then free machine embroidered flowers over the top. I have made the wisteria by couching thread and free machine embroidering stems and leaves. I have used variagated thread to make the wisteria flowers.

MD window web

I then went on to make a second postcard using an image of a hare printed on fabric with scraps of silk fabric to make a crazy paving design. I finished the card off with a little cotton lace and fussy cuts from lace fabric.

hare postcardweb

My third postacrd is work in progress……..

deckchairs web

This entry was posted in Machine embroidery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

