Another Book Cover?

I seem to be hooked on making book covers at the moment. I have now started a book cover for a friend who is visiting India in April.

elephant book cover

The fabric has been hand dyed by my good friend Isobelle – she is very talented – I couldn’t have done it I am sure. I have then printed elephants on black fabric using an Indian print block and sewn them onto the fabric. I have decorated them with French knots and started to free machine embroider. The gold thread is wonderful and the silver is amazing!

elephamt

Having completed both elephants I have now moved on to the rest of the book cover. I have hand stitched a section round the elephants using seed stitch and variegated metallic thread, which has produced a great effect.

elephants in progress

Finished at last!

elephant book cover completed

The Shisha mirrors didn’t happen – the ones I bought were not suitable and my attempts at doing them was a disaster! So instead, I machine and hand embroidered the top and bottom. I am not giving up on the shisha mirrors though – I have another project underway that I can use them on!

This entry was posted in Fabric Dyeing and Printing, Machine embroidery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

