Fabric Art Experimentation

We have recently started up a new group where everyone can spend the day experimenting with fabric paints/crayons, stencils, print blocks, stamps etc. Great fun!

This piece of work was started there.

Alice in wonderland

Initially, I painted the fabric and applied salt whilst it was drying. Then I used plastic lace tablecloth to create a lacy finish, which wasn’t an amazing effect but worth a try.

When I got home I decided to create a piece of work based around Alice in Wonderland. So, I made the large flowers with some fabric that I had procion dyed. The other flowers are fussy cut from fabric and lace.

I found a silhouette of Alice on the web and used freezer paper to transfer a neat copy. The Cheshire Cat and the text have been applied with Transfer Art Paper and the playing cards painted on freehand.

All in all, not bad – even though I say it myself!

This entry was posted in Farbic art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

